Stocks – U.S. Futures Fall as Fed Statement Dampens Demand

0
© Reuters. U.S. futures were down on Friday. © Reuters. U.S. futures were down on Friday.

Investing.com – U.S. futures were lower on Friday, as expectations of steady Federal Reserve rate hike dampened investor appetite for risk.

The fell 16 points or 0.59% to 2,792.25 as of 6:51 AM ET (11:51 GMT) while were down 136 points, or 0.52%, to 26,064.0. Meanwhile tech heavy decreased 62 points, or 0.87%, to 7,103.50.

The Fed kept , but indicated it would continue to slowly and steadily increase interest rates.

The less-than-cautious tone surprised investors, some of whom were expecting a more dovish stance after steep stock declines in October.

Still, expectations of a hike are priced in at around , according to Investing.com’s Fed Rate Monitor Tool.

Walt Disney (NYSE:) was among the top gainers in pre-market trading, surging 2.16% after posting higher than expected earnings after the close on Thursday.

Dropbox Inc (NASDAQ:) increased 7.52% after it beat economists’ expectations, while Qualcomm (NASDAQ:) inched up 0.10%.

Elsewhere, Tesla (NASDAQ:) fell 0.71% while General Electric (NYSE:) declined 3.85% and Yelp Inc (NYSE:) slumped 30.80% after reporting a lower outlook and a miss on revenue.

In economic news, the comes out at at 8:30 AM ET (13:30 GMT), while at 10:00 AM ET (15:00 GMT), the University of Michigan will release its preliminary measure of November .

In commodities, fell 0.52% to $1,219.80 a troy ounce while futures decreased 1.62% to $59.69 a barrel. The , which measures the greenback against a basket of six major currencies, was up 0.05% to 96.60.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.